Follow Us:

social twitter box white 32 social facebook box blue 32social linkedin box blue 32 Youtube

The Bywaters Award was established by the ISN in order to recognize outstanding contributions to the understanding of Acute Kidney Injury. The recipient of the Bywater’s Award is honored for lifetime achievement in the field of Acute Kidney Injury.

Nomination requirements:

  1. Your details: complete name, ISN membership number, and contact information
  2. Nominee details: complete name (as listed in publications) and contact information
  3. Support statement: a description of how and why the nominee’s work contributes to productivity and scholarly advancement in the field of Acute Renal Failure
  4. Full curriculum vitae and bibliography of the nominee
  5. Letters of support: at least two

All nominations and supporting materials are to be sent via email to Jo-Ann Donner at

The winner(s) will be selected by the ISN Awards Committee, chaired by the ISN President, and by the Bywaters Award AKI expert advisor. The award(s) will be presented during WCN 2020 in Abu Dhabi.

Recipients of the Bywaters Award
2019 Mehmet Sukru Sever Raymond Vanholder
2017 Raúl Lombardi  
2015 Kirpal Chugh  
2013 Bruce A. Molitoris  
2011 Ravindra L Mehta  
2009 Claudio Ronco  
2007 Joseph Bonventre  
2005 Norbert Lameire  
2003 Robert Schrier  
1999 Franklin Epstein  
1997 George Porter  
1995 Haskel Eliahou  
1991 Ori Better  


WCN 2020

website new logo

Global Operations Center

Avenue des Arts 1-2
1210 Brussels, Belgium
Tel: +32 2 808 04 20
Fax: +32 2 808 4454
Email contact


Americas Operations Center

340 North Avenue 3rd Floor
Cranford, NJ 07016-2496, United States
Tel: +1 567 248 9703
Fax: +1 908 272 7101
Email contact