The Jean Hamburger Award recognizes outstanding research in nephrology with a clinical emphasis. The award was established in memory of Jean Hamburger, the “Professeur de Paris,” pioneer of clinical nephrology and founding president of the ISN.

Nomination requirements:

  • Your details: complete name, ISN membership number, and contact information
  • Nominee details: complete name (as listed in publications) and contact information
  • Support statement: explain why the nominee should receive the award (maximum 300 words)
  • Curriculum vitae of the nominee: 2-page maximum
  • Letter(s) of support: optional (no more than three)

All nominations and supporting materials are to be sent via email to Jo-Ann Donner at

The winner of the 2020 Jean Hamburger Award will be selected by the ISN Awards Committee, chaired by the ISN President, and will be presented during WCN 2020 in Abu Dhabi.

Recipients of the Jean Hamburger Award          
2019 Detlef Schlondorff  
2017 Stanley Clark Jordan  
2015 Manikkam Suthanthiran  
2013         David Salant  
2011 Eberhard Ritz  
2009 Jared J. Grantham  
2007 Pierre Ronco  
2005 Giuseppe Remuzzi  
2003 Robert W. Schrier Stewart Cameron
2001 Anita Apeira Roscoe R. Robinson
1999 Barry M. Brenner Robert Heptinstall
1997 Renee Habib Prescilla Kincaid-Smith
1995 Donald W. Seldin  
1993 Gabriel Richet Hugh E. de Wardener
1990 Frank. J. Dixon  
1987 Willem J. Kolff Belding Scribner

Global Operations Center

Avenue des Arts 1-2
1210 Brussels, Belgium
Tel: +32 2 808 04 20
Fax: +32 2 808 4454
Email contact


Americas Operations Center

340 North Avenue 3rd Floor
Cranford, NJ 07016-2496, United States
Tel: +1 567 248 9703
Fax: +1 908 272 7101
Email contact