Travel Grants

Deadline to apply is November 17, 2023

Notification of acceptance is December 14, 2023

The World Congress of Nephrology 2024 (WCN’24) offers a travel grant program to ISN members residing in low and lower-middle income countries as per the World Bank income classification.

The travel grant program encourages equitable access to the congress, providing support to ISN members with limited funds to attend WCN’24.

The travel grant includes:

  1. Registration to WCN’24
  2. A contribution towards travel and accommodation to WCN’24

Travel Grant Criteria

  • Applicants must be ISN members (ISN Full Individual member, ISN Joint Group member, or ISN Trainee) residing in a low or lower-middle-income country as defined by the World Bank income classification, list can be found here.
    Exceptions: Current ISN Fellows training in higher-income countries, ISN Sister Center participants from supporting centers.
  • If you have received three previous grants to attend ISN events, you are no longer eligible to apply.
  • Priority is given to:
    • Members presenting an approved abstract at WCN’24
    • Members of 40 years and younger (born in 1983 and after)
    • Past and present participants of the Regional Training Center, Sister Center, ISN Fellows, Clinical Research Programs, and those enrolled in the ISN Mentorship Program
    • Emerging Leaders Program 2021 cohort

Are you submitting an abstract to WCN’24? If so please submit your abstract before finalizing your travel grant application so you can add in your abstract number during the application process.

Not an ISN member yet?

If you want to apply for a travel grant but are not yet an ISN member, you can become/renew your membership here.

The ISN is committed to equitable access, offering different membership options with adapted fees based on the country’s income category.

Check the different membership categories or contact the membership team at for more information.

Please note that an ISN membership does not automatically guarantee acceptance for a travel grant application.

Contribution Per ISN Region (only for Low and Lower-Middle Income Countries as per the list of ISN regions)

Africa, Middle East, North & East Asia, South Asia, Southeast Asia  $ 3,000
Central & Eastern Europe, Western Europe  $ 2,200
Newly Independent States (NIS) and Oceania  $ 2,700
Central America, North America  $ 1,700
South America  $ 1,200


Please be aware that reimbursement can only be made by bank transfer after WCN’24 and after timely submission of documents. It is the responsibility of the grant recipient to book travel and accommodation. Grant recipients are encouraged to make arrangements immediately upon notification of acceptance and to not leave these to the last minute.

Download the list of countries in each region.

World Bank Income Classification

AfghanistanGuinea-BissauSierra Leone
Burkina FasoKorea, Dem. People’s RepSomalia
BurundiLiberiaSouth Sudan
Central African RepublicMadagascarSudan
ChadMalawiSyrian Arab Republic
Congo, Dem. RepMaliTogo
EthiopiaNigerYemen, Rep
Gambia, TheRwanda
AlgeriaIran, Islamic RepSamoa
BangladeshJordanSão Tomé and Principe
BhutanKiribatiSolomon Islands
BoliviaKyrgyz RepublicSri Lanka
Cabo VerdeLao PDRTanzania
Congo, Rep.Micronesia, Fed. Sts.Ukraine
Côte d'IvoireMongoliaUzbekistan
Egypt, Arab Rep.MyanmarVenezuela
HondurasPapua New Guinea
AlbaniaEquatorial GuineaMontenegro
ArmeniaGabonNorth Macedonia
Bosnia and HerzegovinaIndonesiaRussian Federation
BrazilJamaicaSouth Africa
BulgariaKazakhstanSt. Lucia
ChinaKosovoSt. Vincent and the Grenadines
Costa RicaMalaysiaThailand
DominicaMarshall IslandsTurkey
Dominican RepublicMauritiusTurkmenistan
El SalvadorMoldovaWest Bank and Gaza
American SamoaGreecePoland
Antigua and BarbudaGuamPuerto Rico
AustraliaHong Kong SAR, ChinaRomania
AustriaHungarySan Marino
Bahamas, TheIcelandSaudi Arabia
BarbadosIsle of ManSingapore
BelgiumIsraelSint Maarten (Dutch part)
BermudaItalySlovak Republic
British Virgin IslandsJapanSlovenia
Brunei DarussalamKorea, Rep.Spain
CanadaKuwaitSt. Kitts and Nevis
Cayman IslandsLatviaSt. Martin (French part)
Channel IslandsLiechtensteinSweden
CroatiaLuxembourgTaiwan, China
CuraçaoMacao SAR, ChinaTrinidad and Tobago
CyprusMaltaTurks and Caicos Islands
Czech RepublicMonacoUnited Arab Emirates
DenmarkNauruUnited Kingdom
EstoniaNetherlandsUnited States
Faroe IslandsNew CaledoniaUruguay
FinlandNew ZealandVirgin Islands (U.S.)
FranceNorthern Mariana Islands
French PolynesiaNorway

With support from