60 Years of history

The International Society of Nephrology (ISN) was founded in 1960 by Professor Jean Hamburger, the ISN’s first President, at the 1st International Congress of Nephrology held in Geneva and Evian, Switzerland.

From the outset, the ISN focused on advancing worldwide education, science, and patient care in nephrology. The society has grown to become a leading international community with 8,500 members from across the globe.

Today, the ISN continues to offer access to the latest knowledge and best-practices to a global community through education, grants, research, and advocacy to advance its vision of a future where all people have equitable access to sustainable kidney health.

Agnes B. FogoUSA2021-2023
Vivekanand JhaIndia2019-2021
David HarrisAustralia2017-2019
Adeera LevinCanada2015-2017
Giuseppe RemuzziItaly2013 - 2015
John FeehallyUnited Kingdom2011 - 2013
Bernardo Rodriguez-IturbeVenezuela2009 - 2011
Eberhard RitzGermany2007 - 2009
William CouserUSA2005 - 2007
Jan WeeningThe Netherlands2003 - 2005
Robert C. AtkinsAustralia2001 - 2003
Thomas E. AndreoliUSA1999 - 2001
Kiyoshi KurokawaJapan1997 - 1999
Robert W. SchrierUSA1995 - 1997
J. Stewart CameronUnited Kingdom1993 - 1995
Roscoe R. RobinsonUSA1990 - 1993
Klaus ThurauGermany1987 - 1990
Donald W. SeldinUSA1984 - 1987
Gabriel RichetFrance1981 - 1984
George E. SchreinerUSA1978 - 1981
Nils AlwallSweden1975 - 1978
Priscilla S. Kincaid-SmithAustralia1972 - 1975
Hugh E. de WardenerUnited Kingdom1969 - 1972
John P. MerrillUSA1966 - 1969
Claus BrunDenmark1963 - 1966
Jean HamburgerFrance1960 - 1963

Historical Timeline

For six decades, the ISN is at the vanguard of advancing kidney care worldwide, leading the nephrology community into the 21st century through capacity building and global knowledge exchange.

Read more

60th Anniversary

The ISN celebrated its 60th anniversary in 2020, which included commemorative journal publications, series, videos and timelines.

Read more

Biennial Reports

These biennial reports document the ISN’s impact advancing kidney health worldwide, in 2-year installments.

Read the reports