Follow Us:

social twitter box white 32 social facebook box blue 32social linkedin box blue 32YoutubeISN Blog

The ISN presents awards that acknowledge exceptional contributions to nephrology at the World Congress of Nephrology (WCN) and at regional events.

With the change to annual World Congresses of Nephrology, ISN will present awards yearly, with the following awards being presented in 2020:

  • Jean Hamburger Award recognizes exceptional research in nephrology with a clinical emphasis
  • Bywaters Award recognizes outstanding contributions to the understanding of Acute Kidney Injury and honors the recipient for lifetime achievement in this field

Nominations are open until August 15, 2019

The following 2019 award and prize winners were announced during WCN 2019, April 12-15th, in Melbourne:

Additional Lectures and Awards

  • Named Lectures were also presented at WCN 2019
  • Honorary Membership is conferred upon individuals who have made contributions of exceptional merit to ISN

If you have any award questions, please contact Jo-Ann Donner at

WCN 2020


Global Operations Center

Avenue des Arts 1-2
1210 Brussels, Belgium
Tel: +32 2 808 04 20
Fax: +32 2 808 4454
Email contact


Americas Operations Center

340 North Avenue 3rd Floor
Cranford, NJ 07016-2496, United States
Tel: +1 567 248 9703
Fax: +1 908 272 7101
Email contact