Back to News

ISN accepting nominations for Lillian Jean Kaplan Prize

ISN is now accepting nominations for the Lillian Jean Kaplan International Polycystic Kidney Disease (PKD) prize. Deadline for sending nominations is September 30, 2014.

The Lillian Jean Kaplan International Prize for the Advancement in the Understanding of PKD, created in 2002, recognizes a medical professional or researcher exhibiting excellence and leadership in PKD clinical or basic research. The $50,000 cash prize is one of the most significant awards in the medical research field. The prize was established by the PKD Foundation and ISN through the generosity of Thomas Kaplan of New York, USA in memory of his mother Lillian Jean Kaplan who was a PKD sufferer and died in 2002.

The long term goal of the prize is to stimulate members of the scientific and medical community throughout the world to increase, or to begin, research that will lead to a treatment and cure for the millions of people worldwide, who suffer from PKD. It also aims to generate momentum in the field as well as public awareness about the disease. It recognizes individual(s) whose seminal scientific work constitutes tangible achievement toward improving knowledge and treatment of PKD and is awarded every two years at the ISN World Congress of Nephrology (WCN).

Award description

There is an award of $50,000 USD payable in American funds to an individual winner. More than one award may be made, in which case the award will be split among the winners.
The prize may be awarded to residents of any country without restriction as to nationality. The 2015 Award will be presented to each winner in person at the World Congress of Nephrology in Cape Town in March 2015. In addition to the $50,000 USD prize, a citation depicting the winner’s work and a Steuben crystal sculpture will be presented. The awardee(s) will present a lecture during the World Congress of Nephrology.

Nomination requirements

A complete nomination must include the following information:

  • The full name and complete contact information for the nominee(s);
  • A formal letter of nomination which contains: a statement about whether the award should be made to an individual or whether it should/could be shared with other scientists who may or may not be included in the nomination; a summary of the contributions of the nominee(s) and a description of how and why the work of the nominee(s) represents a major advance in basic or clinical understanding of PKD, distinguishing those aspects of the workthat clearly set it apart from the work of others in the field;
  • A full curriculum vitae and bibliography for the nominee(s);
  • At least two letters of support for the nomination;
  • The full name and complete contact information for the nominator(s).

The deadline for nominations is September 30, 2014. For further information about this award and past winners, CLICK HERE.


Nomination process

Nominations are ranked by the Lillian Jean Kaplan Prize Advisory Committee chaired by Dr. Nathan W. Levin. In addition to Dr. Levin, two committee members are selected by the PKD Foundation, and two by ISN. For the 2015 prize, the members are Jared J. Grantham, Vicente Torres, Stefan Somlo and Ben Crowley. The Committee will submit the names of the selected winne(s) to PKD Foundation and ISN Executive Committees for formal approval as soon as possible. The winner(s) will be announced by ISN and the PKD Foundation two to three months prior to the WCN.

Nominations are to be sent to:
Dr. Nathan W. Levin, Chair, Advisory Committee Lillian Jean Kaplan International Prize for Advancement in the Understanding of PKD

To find out more about all the ISN awards and prizes, CLICK HERE.

Help us advance kidney health worldwide
Join the ISN Subscribe to ISN Newsletter
Back to News