Back to News

ISN awards nephrology community at WCN’19

The ISN World Congress of Nephrology was also the time to honor the achievements of our community, working together to advance kidney health worldwide. Chosen by ISN members, this year’s ISN award winners were proudly honored in various categories for their commitment to nephrology.

Congratulations to all the winners and many thanks to all ISN members for voting.

Below is a roundup of each award and the 2019 winners.

Alfred Newton Richards Award

Melissa Little, Theme Director of Cell Biology at the Murdoch Children’s Research Institute in Melbourne (Australia)

The Jean Hamburger Award

Detlef Schlöndorff, The Schlöndorff laboratory

Roscoe R. Robinson Award

Agnes Borge Fogo, Vanderbilt University Medical Center (USA)

Lilian Jean Kaplan International Prize

York Pei, University of Toronto (Canada)

Bradley K. Yoder, Department of Cell, Developmental and Integrative Biology at the University of Alabama at Birmingham Medical School (USA)

ISN Bywaters Award

Mehmet Sever, Istanbul Medical Faculty, Istanbul University (Turkey)

Raymond Vanholder, Chairman European Kidney Health Alliance and of European Chronic Disease Alliance

The Young Nephrologist Awards

Best Basic Science Abstract

Titi Chen, University of Sydney (Australia)

Aruna Rakha Arora, Department of Translational and Regenerative Medicine, Post Graduate Institute of Medical Education and Research, Chandigarh (India).

Best Clinical Abstract

Eugene Chan Yu-hin, Pediatric Nephrology Center, Department of Pediatrics and Adolescent,

Princess Margaret Hospital, Hong Kong

Sidy Mohamed Seck Faculty of Health Sciences, University Gaston Berger Saint-Louis, Senegal,

ISN Pioneer Awards


Oladipo Olujimi Akinkugbe, University of Ibadan (Nigeria)

Central and Eastern Europe

Halima Resic, Medical Faculty University of Sarajevo (Bosnia

and Herzegovina)

Latin America

Edgar Sanclemente, Loma Linda University (Colombia)

NIS and Russia

Valery Pilotovich, Department of Urology and Nephrology, Medical Academy of

Postgraduate Education (Belarus)

Oceania and South East Asia

Supat Vanichakarn, Mission Hospital Dusit, Bangkok (Thailand)

Schrier Award

Queen Elizabeth Central Hospital (Malawi) and Barts Health

NHS Trust hospital (UK)

To get an overview of all ISN award past and present, CLICK HERE.

Help us advance kidney health worldwide
Join the ISN Subscribe to ISN Newsletter
Back to News