Back to News

OSEA Pioneer Award: Supat Vanichakarn

The 2019 ISN Pioneer Award winner for the Oceania and South East Asia region (OSEA) is Professor Emeritus Supat Vanichakarn from Thailand.

Professor Vanichakarn was presented with his award on April 24, 2019 at the Nephrology Society of Thailand CKD Forum, ‘Closing the Gap in the Management of Chronic Kidney Disease.’

Vanichakarn has performed exceptional work to improve the quality of renal care in Thailand by raising ~40 million USD, which has been used for the acquisition of hospital equipment, staff training, and kidney transplantations amongst other things. Vanichakarn is also the secretary general of the Prince Mahidol Award Foundation under the Royal Patronage.

The ISN Pioneer Awards recognize individuals who have made outstanding and sustained contributions to the establishment and/or development of nephrology in their own country or region. Discover more about the ISN Pioneer Awards.

Help us advance kidney health worldwide
Join the ISN Subscribe to ISN Newsletter
Back to News